Ten Things About… Books I’d Recommend the Most

Today I am joining in the fabulous weekly meme by The Broke and the Bookish! The topic is Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most.

1) Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy – I recommend this one to anyone who has a reluctant reader in their house. The imagination and the exciting adventures ensure that they will be turning the pages in no time.

200px-Skulduggery_Pleasant_book_cover

2) How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell – This one I like to give to people who have watched the movie, since they are *very* different beasts and I think the novel is exceptionally funny!

3) The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien – I recommend it because it is the first real book that I read on my own, and I was totally swept up in the wonderful story. Gollum and Smaug are brilliant creations.

4) The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – I like to suggest this to people who don’t think that they like SF, since it is most definitely an SF but one of the most sweeping love stories I’ve ever read. I think it’s changed a lot of minds about what constitutes science fiction.

7372281

5) Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – after my review yesterday I think that anyone could see why I want to recommend this! It’s just a *wonderful* example of a YA novel and a high fantasy novel.

6) One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey – this is an essential novel, in my view, and I recommend it to those who want to think about what they’ve read, who want to be changed by a book. It is truly amazing.

7) The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – very much a modern classic, at this point. This SF novel is written in such a style that you can empathise completely with Todd and the way his life unfolds. Plus, Manchee *weeps*

aa29f4b786e1eb4a88d3cf8

8) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – I recommend to those who still believe that YA is nothing but sparkly vampires! This soon sorts them out!

9) Matilda by Roald Dahl – I recommend to those who consider themselves a bookworm! How could you be a bookworm and not have read this wonderful story?!

10) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater – I recommend this to people who want to read a beautifully written book.

Would love to know your picks!

4 thoughts on “Ten Things About… Books I’d Recommend the Most

    • Fab list! I adored Divergent, although I don’t find myself recommending it much because not many of my friends read The Hunger Games which is just…weird. I MUST get to Jennifer L Armentrout. So many people talk up her books that I’m wondering what I am missing. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

