Ten Things About… April 2013 Waiting on Wednesday Books

Yay! Middle of the week! Today I’m joining in with the meme Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Breaking the Spine. Of course, to fit my blog theme I am going to be highlighting my ten Waiting on Wednesday books coming in April.

1) Fly Away – Kristin Hannah

16044981

Such a beautiful cover! I love Kristin’s books – they are some of the few that actually make me cry – and I can’t wait to get my hands on this one.

2) The Summer Wedding – Fiona Walker

ProductImage-7578323

Fiona Walker is my number one indulgence author. This is the lady whose books come in the bath with me, when I have candles and chocolates as well!

3) The Elite – Kiera Cass

The-Elite

Not as good a cover as The Selection, but I’m desperately awaiting this book anyhow after enjoying the first in the series so much.

4) The Machine – James Smythe

9780007428601

Well, now. If you haven’t been reading James Smythe, then where have you been? I’ve read The Testimony and The Explorer in quick succession and I think he’s one of the greatest emerging talents on the scene. Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

5) Dear Thing – Julie Cohen

16118443

This is an interesting cover style change for Ms Cohen’s books, but I approve greatly since I don’t generally find her novels as fluffy as your generic chick lit. She’s a marvellous storyteller and this new one looks fab.

6) Mayhem – Sarah Pinborough

mayhem

Ahhhh, love that cover! In my view, Sarah Pinborough is one of the most under-rated people writing today. Her Dog Faced Gods trilogy was masterful, so I’m very excited to see where she takes this story.

7) The Shining Girls – Lauren Beukes

images

Zoo City was one of my favourite novels in recent years. So obviously I am all over this new offering from Lauren Beukes!

8) The Crane Wife – Patrick Ness

13638462

You know of Patrick Ness, right? Only one of the pre-eminent storytellers of recent times. I recently talked about how I consider The Knife of Never Letting Go to be a modern classic. This is an adult novel rather than YA, but I am still over the moon about being able to read something new from Patrick Ness.

9) The Exiled Blade – Jon Courtenay Grimwood

images

This is a great series and here is the final novel. Will be lovely to see how the trilogy wraps up.

10) Graveyard Child – M L N Hanover

15802900

Out of all of Daniel Abraham’s pseudonyms, this is my favourite lot of writing. I’m a big fan still of urban fantasy, and this series really is exceptional. Get started with Unclean Spirits, post haste!

Any of these catch your eye? What are you waiting for from April?

3 thoughts on “Ten Things About… April 2013 Waiting on Wednesday Books

  1. Awesome list! A few of these are on my list of reads too. I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Fly Away though so hopefully I can get to it soon. Great picks!

    My WoW

Leave a Reply

